What countries have Free Trade Agreements with Australia?

A Free Trade Agreement (FTA) is an international treaty between two or more countries that reduces or eliminates certain barriers, including import duty, to trade in goods and services.

If you are importing goods that originate from a country that Australia has a Free Trade Agreement with then it is likely your goods will not attract any import duty. This is conditional upon you having the right Certificate of Origin or declaration from your overseas supplier.

Here is a list of Free Trade Agreements with Australia currently in force:

  • Australia-New Zealand (ANZCERTA or CER)
  • Singapore-Australia (SAFTA)
  • Australia-United States (AUSFTA)
  • Thailand-Australia (TAFTA)
  • Australia-Chile (ACl-FTA)
  • ASEAN-Australia-New Zealand (AANZFTA) Australia, New Zealand, Brunei, Burma, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Vietnam, Thailand, Laos, Cambodia and Indonesia.
  • Malaysia-Australia (MAFTA)
  • Korea-Australia (KAFTA)
  • Japan-Australia (JAEPA)
  • China-Australia (ChAFTA)
  • Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) Australia, Canada, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, Singapore, Vietnam, Brunei Darussalam, Chile, Malaysia and Peru.
  • Australia – New Zealand, Cook Islands, Kiribati, Nauru, Niue, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu (PACER)
  • Australia – Hong Kong (AHKFTA)
  • Peru – Australia (PAFTA)
  • Australia – United Kingdom ( A-UKFTA)

Diplomatic FTA negotiations are currently underway with India, and the European Union.

Free Trade Agreements can be complex so for specific advice concerning your own circumstances please contact a member of our Tariff Consulting team.


Contact - Global HQ

Credit Application Form